Cookies information uses cookies to make the site simpler. Find out more about the cookies we use.

Close banner

City Council Election results – 2 May 2024

Published: 3 May 2024

City Council Election results – 2 May 2024 City Council Election results

Labour remains in control of Exeter City Council following the 2024 City Council Elections on Thursday 2 May.

After Thursday’s vote, the Labour Party has 24 seats, with the Green Party now on seven, Liberal Democrats now on four, Conservatives three and Independents one.

The Labour Party gained seats in Topsham and Pinhoe, while the Green Party gained a seat in Newtown and St Leonards.

The Liberal Democrats gained a seat in Duryard and St James, while the Independents gained a seat in Heavitree.

Voters went to the polls in a third of the seats – 13 wards across the city.

A total of 13 councillors were elected on the night – Labour 8, Green 2, Liberal Democrat 1, Conservative 1 and Independent 1.

Counting took place at the Riverside Leisure Centre and the overall turnout was 35%.

Winners on the night:

  • Alphington - HARDING Rob: Labour Party (997 votes)
  • Duryard and St James - PALMER Tammy Catherine: Liberal Democrat (891 votes)
  • Exwick - BIALYK Philip Michael: Labour and Co-operative Party (1,060 votes)
  • Heavitree - HAIGH Lucy: Independent (1,171 votes)
  • Mincinglake and Whipton - POLE Liz: Labour Party (842 votes)
  • Newtown and St Leonards - WETENHALL Lynn Susan: The Green Party (1,215 votes)
  • Pennsylvania - HUGHES Zoe Jane: Labour Party (1,106 votes)
  • Pinhoe - HUSSAIN Jakir: Labour and Co-operative Party (1,019 votes)
  • Priory - WARDLE Tony: Labour Party (888 votes)
  • St David’s - BANYARD James John: The Green Party (1,187 votes)
  • St Loyes - JOBSON Anne Margaret: The Conservative Party (1,220 votes)
  • St Thomas - DARLING Deborah Charlotte: Labour and Co-operative Party (1,058 votes)
  • Topsham - ROLSTONE Gemma Lorraine: Labour Party (1,339)

For the full results visit the City Council website at

Share this page on...