Historic gatehouse renovation revealed as fences come down
Published: 12 January 2022
An historic park gatehouse in Exeter that was recently renovated after being targeted by vandals over a number of years has now been unveiled.
The iconic Pinces Gardens gatehouse – dating back to around 1912 – has been re-roofed and repaired by Exeter City Council. The works have been carried out to preserve the history of the park.
Fencing protecting the gatehouse has now been removed so that the everyone can enjoy the building in its full glory.
The gatehouse is a well-known landmark and is the entrance to the much-loved Pinces Gardens. It was once used by the park keeper.
The site was purchased by the City Council in 1912 and was formerly a nursery owned by William Lucombe. The nursery had operated on the site from as early as 1720 but by 1890 had fallen into decline.
The nursery was sold off to various buyers, including the Council for £1,900. Part of the land became Pinces Gardens, part of it became allotments and the rest housing, which is now Waterloo Road and Wellington Road.
Over recent years the gatehouse had become a target for vandals and the roof was in a state of disrepair.
Contractors working for the Council stripped back the roof and laid new clay plain tiles similar to those previously on the building. A number of external repairs were also carried out to the building.